The World According To Damien
in a World gone mad – one sane voice emerges…

Damien on… Fonzie Is Cool(?)

The “Happy Days” character of Arthur Fonzerelli had originally been a minor character, based loosely on John Milner in “American Graffiti” – upon which the sitcom was (also loosely) based.

But as the series progressed, due to his popularity, the character was built up – until HE became the star. At which point, the merchandising went MAD.

And yes, I admit it – for a while, I wore a “Fonzie Is Cool” badge.

If I had been a twelve-year-old girl, it would have been fine. And although this was several years prior to the “post-ironic” period (pre-post-ironic?) I could have carried it off if I had been over seventy – just as a laugh.

But I was a twenty-five-year-old man.

I am ashamed.

2 Responses to “Damien on… Fonzie Is Cool(?)”

  1. I HATE to be pedantic (but I’m gonna be – so there!) but surely the period prior to Post-Ironic would have been just “Ironic”. The period before THAT would then have been “Pre-Ironic”.

    Your “Pre-post-ironic” sounds better though!

    As to the Fonz badge – you cast aspersions at my BRILLIANT puns and then admit to THAT! How can you live with yourself?

    Alfie

  2. Heaaaay!!!


Leave a comment

