The World According To Damien
in a World gone mad – one sane voice emerges…

Damien on… Thereup

Funny thing, the English language. Case in point…

You can tack all manner of words onto the end of the word “there” – about, after, against, among – and they are only the ones beginning with “a”. In all such cases, the connection of the words merely TIDIES what would exist if these words were used BEFORE “there”.

But the ones I am concerned with are the short ones – at, in, of and on.

My quibble is – WHERE THE HELL IS “UP”???

I mean, you can have thereat, therein, thereof and thereon – which sound better than “at there”, “in there”, “of there” and “on there”.

So why can’t “up there” by said as thereup?

Use it in a sentence? Certainly. “While cleaning my rifle, I encountered an obstruction in the barrel – so I shone a pen-torch into it and looked thereup”. Or “I turned into the wrong end of a one-way street and drove thereup.” Or “I followed a girl up the stairs who was wearing a mini-skirt and gazed thereup.” The possibilities are endless.

And yet, despite Googling, Wiki-ing and looking in my Chambers’ – I can find no trace of the word.

Of course, if Google LISTS this piece – anyone searching for the word will be sent HERE. Damn, if THIS doesn’t boost my hits, NOTHING will!

Footnote: Wordpress’ SpellChecker has found four “errors” in this piece – ALL of which are “thereup”.

Make that FIVE.

4 Responses to “Damien on… Thereup”

  1. Another winning Post spinning from off thy dynamic Damien dome! Hereup, in blogland, we should all use “thereup” as much as possible. The word “fanorak” flew off my fingers the other day. I am both an SF fan, and an offshore radio anorak.

  2. You asked me if “fanorak” was a UNIQUE word.

    I had heard of “fanzine” (fan magazine) – it was one of those RARE words I ACTUALLY KNEW, when it came up on “Call My Bluff” many years ago – along with “Klong” (a Thai canal – but then, I WOULD know THAT!) and a couple of others, spread over 30 years or so – but NOT “fanorak”.

    I thought it was a great word, but… I FOUND it on the Interweb. It’s RARE, but others have thought of it BEFORE. I HATE it when that happens to ME – but in a World of 7 billion people, I suppose it’s inevitable!

    Sorry!

  3. I hereby undertake to use both “thereup” and Mr Quick’s (pleased to meet you Sir!) “hereup” whenever the opportunity presents itself!

    Reminds me a bit of the little jape that a couple of like-humoured Barclays Tax Clerks and I would play on our Manager in the Norwich office in the early 1980s. We would find an unusual or archaic word and then attempt to fit it into as many letters to clients and the dear old Inland Revenue as possible.

    Thus when kindly old Eric signed about the 30th letter of the day using “anent” instead of “with regard to” he would shout from his office “All right Searle, what does it MEAN?”

    He, incidentally, was one of the very few NICE Managers I’ve worked for, in that office it was his assistant who was a thorough bastard!

    Dave aka Alfie

  4. Another lovely obscure word: “aestival” (or estival) – pertaining to the Summer. “Dear Sir, Your aestival expenses have…” – guaranteed to scare the crap out of any taxpayer!


Leave a comment

